Looking for ideas? Middle School Computer Lessons

ICloud; Middle School Computer Lessons

I have several apple devices like most people, I recently signed up for “ICloud” when I received my iPad 2 for my classroom (from a grant). Probably not the best idea but for now all my devices including the classroom IPad are on my cloud.

My 4-year-old son is obsessed with that song “Party Rockin in the House”. He constantly wants to hear it and “Dance”. It is a sight to see. So, last night I finally downloaded it from iTunes. Today, when I came to school there it was on my schools iPad 2. I didn’t even think about that happening, but I saw it as a opprotunity to discuss the “Cloud” or cloud computing in general in my class, a nice little teachable moment to take advantage of.

So, this is how I did it. I asked them all to turn off their monitors, which I frequently do to get their undivided attention. Then, I plugged the iPad into my speakers played the song and then asked the question “How did that get on their?” I asked my class who has an Ipod or apple device and of course most raised their hands. Then asked, who has heard of the “Cloud”? Only a few hands went up. So, I told them what it was and how that song magically appeared on my Ipad. The song really got their attention, I feel like this helped them really understood this new technology.

I would love to hear your comments!

For more ideas for your technology classroom and Lessons, Books and student books check out www.middleschoolcomputerlessons.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

