Looking for ideas? Middle School Computer Lessons

Classroom Procedures for Computer Class- Middle School

Even though it is the middle of summer   I was thinking what the most important aspect of my teaching is. What keeps  to mind is my classroom procedures. Summer time is when many teachers are informed that they will be teaching computer classes next year…mostly it comes out of the blue with a call from your Principal. So, if you are new to teaching computer class and you are looking for some ideas on how to go about it, I’ll explain how I do it.

My class is 45 minutes long and the students have it for one nine weeks (about 45 days). I do the same thing every day CONSISTENCY IS KEY!

First -classes must wait at the door until I tell them they can come in. This lets them know that I am in charge.

– All books and materials are to be set on tables away from the computers. I dont want any “junk” in their work area.

– Then, all classes type for the first 7-10 minutes of class. Every day with no exceptions. During this time there is absolutely no talking. This routine settles the class and again puts me in charge.

-Next- I will review from the previous day and introduce some new material(teaching 101)

– Then I’ll give a new assignment. Answer any questions…

-When the new assignment is being worked on, the students are allowed to talk quietly and even help each other. The one important rule is “You may help someone, but do not do it for them”

– Towards the end of class, I will check any finished assignments. If students finish they may help other students, practice typing or play an approved game.

I hope this helps anyone looking for ideas. I would love to hear any comments you may have.

If you are looking for Middle School Computer lessons click here to learn more and get some free samples. www.middleschoolcomputerlessons.com

Comments on: "Classroom Procedures for Computer Class- Middle School" (2)

  1. Looking for a blog for my 6th, 7th, and 8th grade computer literacy class. 13th year teaching but first year teaching computer lit. Last year teacher used edmodo and I need another site as this teacher will be using edmodo in his social studies class. Never used a blog and not sure what to do.

    • This blog is through word press. You could use it for your class. If you are looking for materials for your class, check out my website http://www.middleschoolcomputerlessons.com and request uncouple free lessons. My books are perfect for a teacher in your situation.

      I think another blog that I have seen used in school is http://www.b l o g s p o t.com (spell check kept getting that one) If you have any questions about getting your class started, I would love to help! Where is your school?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

