Looking for ideas? Middle School Computer Lessons

Middle School Computer Lessons; Bring your own device. For more ideas visit www.middleschoolcomputerlessons.com or subscribe to this blog. I would like to hear your comments.

Texting Tuesday

I recently read an article about students bringing their own devices to the classroom. It sounds like a really good idea, but there are some roadblocks for the middle school classroom. Here are some issues that I have run into when I do my “Texting Tuesday” activity with my students.

Lets list the GOOD things first:

  • Students feel empowered when they bring their own device
  • They are more interested in the lesson initially; you have got their attention
  • In theory, every student has a device
  • You can get instant feedback
  • Students are engaged

Here are the issues that I have run into:

  • Not every student has a device
  • Device connectivity (no signal)
  • Battery life
  • Students do not know how to properly operate their device
  • all the devices are different
  • Students do not stay on task
  • Talking/noise

I am at a country school and our cell range is limited at best, so this is the biggest issue when I do a project like this. The problems outnumber the good things for my class. However, I feel that my class is the exception to the rule. I do see value in having students bring their own device. As technology improves I see this being used in the classroom. More so in the higher grades. As of now, I just do this project for one class in my 9 week course. But we do use cell phones in my NXT Robotics projects and some other activities in my class (photos/calculator…).

I would love to hear your experience with this! Please comment!

Middle School Computer Lessons; Bring your own device. For more ideas visit www.middleschoolcomputerlessons.com or subscribe to this blog.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

