Looking for ideas? Middle School Computer Lessons

Middle school computer lessons, cell phones in the classroom seem like a good idea…

More resources at: middleschoolcomputerlessons.com
My three year old wants to type…which brings up a whole other subject that I’ll address tomorrow. Here it is: ncdfgghhhjjiiklllkkjhbbhhjnbnlkknjj!)’vvvbb!’m,,,,,mmjbvvvcccxxzsdegweerrtyjkkkkghjjjkkkkmm’mg hvavvaxbbvkj’,j,,h, j,jjj.kkkk.k.k..k..jj.$$j$mm$$$&$)))(gggllm

I recently read an article about how kids can operate an Ipod before they can tie their shoes, in my house that is certainly the case…

But more about cell phones in the classroom: In my 6,7 and 8th computer class I recently tried out the whole idea of using the cell phone as a tool in class. I learned a lot from the students and how you could use this in a lesson.

So, out of about 125 kids I found that about %60 percent were able to bring phones to my class. In some classes the number was as high as %85 and as low as %45. surprisingly, the 6th grade kids had a higher percentage than the 8th graders. It is neet to see and discuss the wide array of phones that were in the class. From Track Phones to Android ones. And surprisingly not one Iphone. I did bring in my Ipad to show the class and it was a surprising big hit. THere were “OOHSSS and AHHHSSS” when I presented it.

So the lesson was a basic introduction to the cell phone in the classroom idea. First we went around and showed our phones and discussed our likes and dislikes and service plans. Next, we discussed how our service was in my room. Here was the first snag, I get no reception on mine, roaming sometimes. So some kids that had phones could not use them because of reception others had them and had  a signal (mostly Verison). This lesson will be available soon on Middleschoolcoputerlessons.com. First, I had them text my email and see who was able to do that. Most kids with signals were able to do this. It was pretty cool to see work. Then we did 10 challenges about using the phone, like using a calculator, playing music and texting challenges.

Overall, I would give myself a C+ for teaching this lesson for the first time. I am going try it again with my 4th nine week students and make some improvements. Here is the thing about it, just because technology is out there doesn’t mean it has a good use in a classroom. Cell phones could work in some situations in a classroom. But, you ger 25 kids with 25 different phones/plans/signal strength and skill levels, the educational value diminishes…. But I am not giving up just yet. I do think that I could teach 1 day of cell phone activities per semester.

For more ideas about integrating technology into the classroom, Lesson Plans, and 21st century learning subscribe to my blog or check out more resources at:

Middleschoolcomputerlessons.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

