Looking for ideas? Middle School Computer Lessons

Middle School Computer Lessons; Motivating Students for Keyboarding (www.middleschoolcomputerlessons.com)

Keyboarding and typing is a part of most middle school computer classes. In some cases a middle school may have an entire class dedicated to typing. In others it may not be addressed at all. I feel typing and keyboarding is an important part of any technology class for kids.

This is how I do typing in my class, and we do use keyboard covers : 6 grade classes type using Word then we move to Tux typing (open source); 7th Grade classes use “Type to Learn 4” which was purchased as a site license network copy; 8th graders have a choice between continuing their progress in TTL4 or starting from scratch in Mavis Beacon Teaches typing (version 15).

Then, every 2 weeks we have a typing quiz. Each student must come to my pc with the projector and type one sentence that I provide in front of all their peers. I use a program called “gabes┬átype ometer” and it gives WPM score after the sentence is typed. Next, the student types their name and score in a spreadsheet for all to see. My goal is to use peer pressure as a motivation tool when they are doing their keyboarding practice.

Next, I take the top 10 scores for each grade level and add them to my “Typing Leaderboard”

Here, all of my students can see who is the best typist in each grade. I type out each name and score to hang up.

Another motivator is the Type to Learn progress board:

Here are all 7 levels in the program. As students progress through the program, they move their name to the next level. This allows everyone to see the progress of all of the students in the class.

My last motivation tool I call the “Qwerty King Typing Crown“. Students get to wear the crown if they are the fastest typist in the class during the day of the quiz. This is pretty popular! I find this gives students attention from their peers, which is like gold for MS students.

Qwerty King Student motivational tool

For more Lessons for Middle School computer class visit www.middleschoolcomputerlessons.com

I would love to hear your comments!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

