Looking for ideas? Middle School Computer Lessons

For the best middle school computer lessons, and middle school computer text books visit www.middleschoolcomputerlessons.com

As I teach my middle school computer class, I try to incorporate the latest technologies into my teaching. As a result, I find that my students have a wide range of computer skills. Some kids can barely press ctrl+alt+del to log in and others seem to be considerably more confident in their computer skills. The range of skills do not seem to fit into any social or economic class but are more random. The kid with the newest pair of Jordans is just as likely to be computer illiterate than a disadvantaged student.

As adults, we think all kids are tech-wizzes, and I find that not to be the case. For the most part, I find that students lack many basic computer skills when they first enter my classroom. They lack skills like cut and paste, keyboarding, troubleshooting and downloading files. I do my best to catch them up, so all my students are at even keel. A typical student may know how to play Xbox live or illegally download music onto an Ipod but not know how to operate spell check in word. We automatically think kids know computers, this is an assumption that we shouldn’t make.

There is a real need for formal computer/technology classes in school. Kids need the basic skills for their other classes. These classes provide young learners a foundation of technology knowledge and promote 21st century learning.

I appreciate any comments about this post!!!

For the best middle school computer lessons, and middle school computer text books visit www.middleschoolcomputerlessons.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

